Teaching 411

Just another WordPress.com weblog

School is the New Home May 7, 2009

Filed under: New School Rules — rubino87 @ 1:17 am

Schools now offer more then they ever have to their students. Today students may eat two out of the three meals a day in school. Schools offer breakfast programs whish is when students who sign up for it eat their breakfast in the cafeteria either brought from home or bought in school. This program assures that students have a proper meal before they start their day. There are also after school programs offered. These programs are for children of parents who work late or may single parent homes and there is nobody to watch the children after school. These programs include fun and games but also have homework help. I bring this things up because in one of my education classes I was told I have to be more then a teacher. I will wear many hats in this profession. I may sometimes have to be a motherly figure maybe even a fatherly figure and friend and even sometimes an enemy. Schools are a place where students are not just coming to learn but to grow. Some student will spend more time with their teacher than they will with their parents in a week. Yes students will still bring who they are from home, but school now helps shape them when before it was primarily done by children’s parents at home. I’m indifferent in how i feel about this issue. I think it’s great because students who may need extra care are getting it but they aren’t getting it from their parents. It is becoming the schools job.

 

Leave a comment